Striped Curtains DIY

Have you ever been so in love with something for years but never took the plunge because, let’s be honest, it would blow your entire budget? Ya, me too. But some things like this pottery barn bedding and these striped curtains, are just too good to let go of! Striped curtains have been a design obsession of mine forever. Ever since I saw Carrie Bradshaw’s in Sex and the City and, more recently, dozens of rooms designed with them on Pinterest, I knew I had to have them. They add so much to a room! Suprisingly, they were harder to find than I thought. I thought it was going to be as easy as going to Ikea and picking out the color I wanted, but it seems like everyone has fallen in love with these curtains too, so the only place I found them was Pottery Barn for $$$. While I’m willing to spend on essential items, I was not willing to pay that much for curtains. So after searching for different options, I decided to paint them myself!

Let’s get crafty!

photo 5-1

Supplies:

 IMG_4070

measuring tape

24 mm Frog painters tape (about an inch)

gray acrylic paint

fabric paint medium

paint roller

paint tarp

2 curtain panels

IMG_4055

Process:

The first thing to do is lay out the painters tarp and curtains on top. Because my Ikea curtains were 98″, I wanted to make each stripe approximately 7.25″ for a total of 7 gray stripes and 6 white stripes. The next step is to tape off the stripes, which is probably the most difficult. Have a tape measure ready and start with the first colored stripe. Measure from the top of the curtain down to 7.25″ and make a small pencil mark on both sides. Place the strip of tape below the pencil marks so you paint the entire stripe. Now measure from the top of the last strip of tape down an additional 7.25″ and mark both sides. This time, place the strip of tape above the pencil marks because this strip will be left blank. Continue all the way down the curtains. When your done laying down the strips, the blank stripes will look smaller but when you remove the tape after the paint they will be the same size!

IMG_4061

To be extra cautious, I added little pieces of tape in the stripes that are to be painted!

Now it’s time to paint! Grab your roller and paint in the colored areas. Make sure you get close to the tape! Optional: mix one part fabric medium to two parts paint. This allows you to wash the curtains if you need to, but I’ll admit I’ve never washed my curtains so I could’ve eliminated this step.

IMG_4064 IMG_4063

The Big Reveal:

I would let it sit for at least a few hours, maybe overnight, but then remove that tape! I was SO nervous that it had bled or made a huge mess, but y’all, they turned out amazing!!

IMG_4059 photo 1

The lines were perfectly crisp and they look even better hanging in my room! And they are SO much cheaper than anything I’ve found. Sometimes I’m not about the DIY if I think it would just be easier to spend the money, but this is an easy project that you can customize however you want!

I’m absolutely in love with them, and to be honest, they turned out even better than I thought they would! So while I still don’t know how to screen print my own duvet cover (don’t worry, I’m working on it) at least I finally have the striped curtains I’ve always wanted. 😉

 

Project inspired by justagirlandherblog

Helpful Tips and Tricks:

  • I strongly recommend some kind of knee pad, especially if you’re working on a hard surface
  • use Frog painters tape (available at Home Depot), I can’t tell you how perfect the lines are and I trust it more than any other painters tape
  • skip the fabric paint! I would just buy a big can of paint from the hardware store, the little craft bottles run out so quickly!

Leave some love below and tell me what you think 🙂

Now get crafty!

xoxo

christina

Leave a Reply

